REV by J.C Emery – Review, Links and cover reveal for CRUSH!

 photo REV_zpsc6b71bfa.jpg

SYNOPSIS 

With the looming threat from the Mancuso Crime Family, the Forsaken Motorcycle Club is preparing for a war that could destroy them. Grady, the club’s Sergeant-at-Arms, knows that love makes you weak, and he has zero interest in adding to his liabilities– especially now. He’s already got his teenage daughter who keeps him on his toes and a beef within the club that could fracture his relationship with a fellow brother for good.

For Holly Mercer, her life is finally getting on track and the last thing she wants is trouble from her hometown’s resident outlaws. Keeping her nose clean is easier said than done, when suddenly she finds herself embroiled in club business. Holly might like the idea of being with a real-life bad boy, but even being in the same room with tough-as-nails Grady flusters her.

When Holly inadvertently finds herself on Mancuso’s radar, she has two choices: trust that Grady will protect her, or continue to refuse the club’s help. Both roads are dangerous, but only one has the chance to damage her beyond repair.

Love is never more dangerous than when it can destroy you.

LINKS 

AMAZON US | B&N

KELLIE’S REVIEW 

I really enjoyed this book.

However it was not what I thought it would be.

I really really  freaking really love the whole Mafia Vs. Biker theme.

It just keeps the missing the mark slightly in my point of view.

Yes the mafia is mentioned and does play a bigger part in this book than in the last. But it kinda goes away.

One standoff.. and then a few mentions here and there. That’s it. (I really want to know what’s going to happen to “Junior”)

This was based more on the MC as a whole. As Grady is the Sgt at Arms. He is dealing with the loss of his best friend and not mourning as he needs to.

This is also affecting his daughter, Cheyenne. He just doesn’t realize it.

 

Well the school secretary Holly does.

She decides to confront Grady about it as he avoids her at all costs.

There is awesome chemistry, but its hate at first sight. They both think the other is really really ridiculously good looking but they are too different. And besides, Grady is an asshole, and Holly has heard all about the types of guys that are in a Motorcycle Club. After all she grew up in this town, She knows how they all are.So she thinks!

Some things happen and Holly is targeted by the Mafia and used to get to Grady. (It is actually Alex’s ex that makes an appearance.) 

This starts their relationship.

Together they made me laugh and swoon. They bicker and it is hilarious! They make sweet sweet love. Ok so they fuck each other crazy! We get the story told from both POV’s and a kick-ass epilogue which leads us into Crush! (I not so secretly can’t wait for Chey and Jeremy’s story!)

Oh I do need to point out, that something HORRIBLE happens in this book to Holly’s cousin. We are there through the whole thing. People who CANNOT read about rape. Please don’t read that part. Or this book. It is violent. It is graphic. It does actually add to the story so I completely understand why the story went there, but as I said I know some people can’t handle that.

So yep.. all in all I liked it. I’m just REALLLLLLY hoping the Mafia storyline is going to kick in a bit more soon.

J.C Emery has knack for writing a great story that is dark but light.

You giggle, swoon, clench your jaw, mouth vomit, and sigh the whole way through.

EXCERPT 

 photo EXCERPT_zps689d987e.png

“You ever play Street’Opoly?” Grady leans in and asks me.

“What?” I ask. I’ve heard of a lot of different versions of the game before, even one that could be totally customized, but never Street’Opoly.

“Well, you’re about to be schooled,” he says. He takes a pull of his beer and gives me a sly smile. The attention makes me blush, but after last night, it probably shouldn’t. Clearing my throat and tucking my hair behind my ears, I smile wide up at him. He smiles back broadly, the lines around his mouth and eyes deepening. He truly is gorgeous in a way that is all man and muscle and arrogance.

“You think you can teach me a thing or two?” I say in a low and breathy voice. My heart rate spikes, and I flush all over.

“Baby, I’ll teach you things that are illegal in nine states,” he whispers. Cheyenne makes a gagging noise from my other side. I glance at his lips then up at his eyes and back to his lips. My nerves have disappeared and in their place is pure, unadulterated lust. He dives in for a quick kiss and then pulls away like nothing happened.

“Well,” I say lowly while trying to clear my throat, “you can try, but you’re going to have to do it as something aside from the ship. I already called that piece.”

“My house, my rules, my ship,” he says. I feel his arm move behind me. The adult, mature Holly wants to think he’s making a move and wrapping me in his strong embrace, but the kid in me recognizes this move. It’s the same one my older brother, Theo, used when we were kids and he wanted to get his hands on something I had. Back then, Theo, Mindy, and I were inseparable. I may have fallen for this trick a few times when I was little, but Mindy and I soon learned the art of the hand-off. In my experience, every girl who’s had to deal with an overbearing male in her life knows about the hand-off.

I take a chance, lean in toward Grady, and blow out a shaky breath. His arm pauses for a brief second, and I pounce, grabbing the ship from the table and handing it off to Cheyenne. Like a pro, she grabs the ship, hops out of her chair, and runs around the table to Lisa, who is dumping wings out of the plastic bags and into a glass bowl.

“That’s fucked,” Grady says and leans against the back of his chair. He takes a pull of his beer and shakes his head. “You’re supposed to be on my team, Chey!”

“Ha! You grounded me last month for being like ten minutes late for curfew. You’re on your own, dude,” she says. He grumbles something about an hour and fickle memories, but doesn’t make a stink out of it.

CLICK HERE TO ENTER THE GIVEAWAY

1X Signed set of Paperback

Swag Pack

2x eBook sets of Ride, Crash and Rev

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: 

 photo JCEMERY_zps1be358f6.jpg
As a child, JC was fascinated by things that went bump in the night. As they say, some things never change. Now, as an adult, she divides her time between the sexy law men, mythical creatures, and kick-ass heroines that live inside her head and pursuing her bachelor’s degree in English. JC is a San Francisco Bay Area native, but has also called both Texas and Louisiana home. These days she rocks her flip flops year round in Northern California and can’t imagine a climate more beautiful.

JC writes adult, new adult, and young adult fiction. She dabbles in many different genres including science fiction, horror, chick lit, and murder mysteries, yet she is most enthralled by supernatural stories– and everything has at least a splash of romance.

 

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK 

 

 

CRUSH SYNOPSIS 

 photo CRUSH_zpsab5cd20b.jpg
Young love is always perfect. Until it’s not.

Cheyenne Grady is a total daddy’s girl to her bad-ass father, the Sergeant-at-Arms of the Forsaken Motorcycle Club. She’s funny, and kind, and she just wants that deep, earth-shattering love like her dad has with her school secretary, Holly. But Cheyenne’s been looking in the wrong direction, because the only good that can come from the way she looks at Jeremy Whelan is a lesson in heartbreak.

Jeremy always wanted to prospect for the Forsaken Motorcycle Club and wear the same patch as his father. When a life-long dream becomes reality, Jeremy realizes that the outlaw lifestyle is not for the faint of heart. Nor is it easy on relationships. He wants to be a good man, but temptation is everywhere.
Cheyenne is beautiful, and strong, and exactly what Jeremy could have forever. As long as he doesn’t screw it up.

Love is never more powerful than the first time.

 

ADD IT TO GOODREADS

Leave a Reply

Smitten's Book Blog

Contemporary romance novel reviews

Four Brits and a Book

Four Brits who love the same books but not always the same way!

